You are logged out -> Log in

09 May 2017

Third Annual Br. Cyril Litecky Tennis Tournament

During April and May of 2017, the Athletic Department, in cooperation with Coach Issa Rishmawi, organized the 3rd Annual Br. Cyril Litecky Tennis Tournament. Two-time winner of the men’s open tournament, Ahmad Ayyad Hreimi, played against Taylor Ermoian for the final match that was held on Saturday, May 6, 2017, with Coach Rishmawi as chair umpire.

Brother Peter Bray, FSC, EdD, Vice Chancellor of Bethlehem University, and Dr. Mahmud Hammad, the Dean of Students, along with Bethlehem University faculty and staff, and family and friends of the players joined them at the University tennis courts to watch the match which ended with a 6-2, 6-3 win for Ahmad Hreimi giving him the title for the third year consecutively.

The tournament, which was sponsored for the second year by Herbawi Industrial and Trading Company, was divided into three categories- a men’s open tournament, a tournament for men over 35 years old, and a women’s open tournament. 

While Hreimi won the men’s open tournament, Dr. Walid Shahin won first place in the tournament for men over 35 years old beating Mr. Sati Darwish 6-4, 6-3. As for the women’s open tournament, Ms. Laila Alayan took the title beating Mrs. Lilian Jaar in a match that lasted almost three hours.

During the closing ceremony of the final match, Coach Rishmawi, Dr. Mahmud Hammad, Palestinian Olympic Committee member Mr. Khader Diab, President of the Racquet Sports Association Mr. Amer Iseili, Director of the Athletics Departments Mrs. Samar Araj Mousa, and Herbawi Company representative Abd Al Hafez Herbawi distributed trophies for first and second place winners and participation medals for all players.

3rd Annual Br. Cyril Litecky Tennis Tournament

Bethlehem University Foundation
Phone: +1-240-241-4381
Fax: +1-240-553-7691
Beltsville, MD USA
Bethlehem University in the Holy Land
Phone: +972-2-274-1241
Fax: +972-2-274-4440
Bethlehem, Palestine